The Effort sharing decision

Since 2013, the Union Registry also contains the registry under the so-called effort sharing decision (ESD). The decision regulates binding emission targets for all Member States for emissions not included in the EU ETS in 2013-2020, such as transport (excluding air and international shipping), building heating, agriculture and waste management.

Access to the ESD registry is limited to the European Commission as the central administrator and authorised representatives nominated by the respective Member State.

In Sweden, the Swedish Energy Agency acts as representatives for the Swedish accounts in the registry.

From 2021 onwards, the decision will be replaced by an EU regulation, the so-called Effort Sharing Regulation.
Read more about the Effort sharing decision and regulation on the European Commission website.