Regional co-operation

The Swedish Energy Agency participates in different co-operation projects in the Nordic countries, in the Baltic Sea region and in the Barents region.

The Nordic co-operation

Nordic co-operation on energy issues aims to develop efficient, competitive and secure energy systems in the region. It shall contribute with visible and sustainable solutions for an efficient energy use and a secure supply of energy, and help to decrease greenhouse gas emissions.

There are several institutions that contribute to the co-operation between the Nordic countries.

The Nordic Council of Ministers

The official co-operation between Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden is organized in the Nordic Council of Ministers. The Nordic co-operation is built on common values and a willingness to achieve results that contribute to a dynamic development in the nordic countries. It financed with tax revenues from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.


The world's first international electricity exchange, Nord Pool, was set up 1996. The common Nordic electricity market strengthens security of electricity supply and ensures a better use of the energy resource in the Nordic countries.

Nordic Energy Research

Nordic Energy Research (NER) is the funding institution for energy research under the Nordic Council of Ministers. It promotes research and innovation in new energy technologies and systems by fostering competitiveness, cooperation and increased knowledge creation in Nordic research initiatives. Nordic Energy Research funds and coordinates research, as well as provides administrative expertise, network building and advice.

Top-level Research Initiative

The Top-level Research Initiative (TRI) is the largest joint Nordic research and innovation initiative to date. The initiative aims to involve the very best agencies and institutions in the Nordic region, and promote research and innovation of the highest level, in order to make a Nordic contribution towards solving the global climate crisis.

The Nordic Development Fund

The Nordic Development Fund (NDF) provides grant financing for climate change interventions in low-income developing countries. NDF is the joint development finance institution of the Nordic countries and finances projects in cooperation with other development institutions such as the World Bank, Asian Development Bank, Inter-American Development Bank, African Development Bank and Nordic bilateral development organisations. Projects are usually identified through these partnerships.

Baltic Sea region

The Barents region

The Barents region cover the most northern parts of Sweden, Finland, Norway and the counties of Murmansk and Archangelsk and republics of Karelia and Komi in Russia. The Swedish Energy Agency has participated in a working group for energy issues and helped to develop a web site for the energy sector in the region.